Skip to content

A&G, Not For Me

August 5, 2009
tags:

img106

I picked up a retail pack of A&G at Tarzhay. Here are the spoils:

John Lackey

img108

The Card Stacking Champion of the World

img109

Josh Whitesell – If it was any other team, I’d say “who?”, but it’s my dbacks, so I say “sweet!” Whitesell is adequate big-league filler and not much more.

img110

Manny Ramirez Highlights funky border card – The highlight: Manny’s 500th Career HR. That is a reasonably noteworthy achievement to commemorate with a card, but it occurred in May ’08. This set came out more than twelve months later. It’s not like it was a surprise that Manny reached #500 last summer. If I’m managing a major product with a mid-season release date, it is my job to know of these upcoming milestones, and to get them into my set if they occur one day before my final date to submit the product for printing. This card should have been in last year’s set, and if it barely missed the print deadline for last year, they should have just left it out in ’09. (Sidenote: I like the photo, and I really like the funky border.)

img111

Mini card of a flying car thingy – I got all excited when I realized my pack had a mini. And then it was this.

img107

Ryan Howard – National Pride. The text on the back of this card will be the subject of a forthcoming post.

img112

img113

I’m not a cheapskate, but I don’t spend a lot of money buying packs. When I do, I hate paying $3 for a pack of six baseball cards and receiving four cards of baseball players, a card of a world champion nobody, and a card of a piece of hypothetical technology. I know a lot of y’all dig the quirkiness. I dig the cards when they have baseball subjects. But packs of A&G are not for me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 5:06 pm

    That flying car thingy is part of the strange allure of A&G. I’ve never been excited about a Beethoven card in my life before.

    I’d be open to trading for it. Maybe a Diamondbacks mini for it?

    • skoormit permalink*
      August 10, 2009 9:04 pm

      Absolutely. I’ll send you an email. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

