Skip to content

The Next Storm Davis?

August 11, 2009

There is a 50/50 chance that there will be another Storm Davis  today. I’m sitting in the hospital room with the Missus, who was due last week. The doctor gave a deadline of today, and we are currently doing the labor induction process and making progress. We don’t know if the baby is a boy or a girl, so we have names picked out for both. If a boy, he will be Storm Davis Rooks.

We came up with the middle name first. Davis is a family name on my wife’s side, and we liked the idea of using that for the middle name. We did a lot of brainstorming for the first name, and most of the time I would say the first name, middle name, and last name out loud as I thought of possible first names. “Zarathustra Davis Rooks” got shot down by the Missus. So did “Mercury Davis Rooks” and “Lightning Davis Rooks.” I’m not sure why, but when she suggested Storm, I didn’t do the out loud bit. I said I liked it and we put it on the list of possibilities. Not until later did I make the connection to the former pitcher.

87topps_storm_davis

1987 was the first year I got head over heels into baseball cards. I spent so much time organizing my 1987 Topps cards that for years afterwards I could identify the player on a card if you just showed me a little sliver of one corner of the picture. I don’t have them anymore, so I had to find this pic online. Funny, I don’t recognize it. I’m sure 20 years ago the image was still burned into my memory, but it has faded entirely since.

When I finally realized the name connection, I told the Missus that we couldn’t use the name. I figured too many people would think that we named our kid after a ballplayer. I had it in my head that the original Storm Davis was a pitcher of some repute, and that even casual fans from the era would recognize the name. When I finally got around to looking up his stats, I realized he’s probably not as well-known as I imagined. No All-Star selections. No Cy Young votes. So I reconsidered and put the name back on the list. It eventually became the boy name we liked the most, so as it stands right now, there’s a 50/50 chance that another Storm Davis will be born today.

Update: It’s a girl! No new Storms tonight. If anyone can find a card of a baseball player named Willow Ann, I’ll be impressed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 5:25 pm

    that is fantastic – my wife said we can name our son jack bauer brown!

    • skoormit permalink*
      August 11, 2009 6:07 pm

      Ha! I wonder if there won’t be a decent number of Jack Bauers running around in the coming years.

  2. August 14, 2009 1:14 pm

    Congrats!

  3. August 14, 2009 11:06 pm

    That’s awesome bud!!!

    Congrats!!

  4. skoormit permalink*
    August 15, 2009 1:34 pm

    Thanks, everyone. We just got home from the hospital this afternoon and momma and baby are well and resting. And I have some seriously overdue grass mowing to take care of.

Leave a Reply

