Skip to content

First Card of 2009: Topps Guillermo Quiroz

August 18, 2009
tags:

I know it’s only about seven months late for this, but here it is for posterity.

img242

I had no idea who the guy was, but he was my First Card of the Year(tm), so I did some research. Turns out he’s a former big-time prospect from Venezuela who was derailed by injuries and didn’t quite develop a MLB-caliber bat. Okay. Good for him that he made it to a baseball card in the big leagues. He’s the kind of guy fans don’t remember, but card collectors might just fixate on. He’s my first card of the year, so he goes in my wallet for good luck.

Then Dinged Corners opens their first 2009 Topps pack, and they get a GOLD Quiroz. Sweet ladies that they are, they send it to me just for the asking.

img240

A month later I open a Target Throwback blaster, and I get the retro version of the Quiroz. Sweet. Now if I ever see the guy in person I have a non-glossy card that I can get signed. Fat chance of that happening.

img241

I find out a bit later that Q was actually playing for West Tennessee in the Southern League early this season. By the time I found out, I had already missed the Diamond Jaxx series in Birmingham. In late May he was called up to the Mariners for a spell. He played in 4 games and got 4 hits in 15 AB. He’s back down in AA now, where he’s hit .248/.303/.411 with 4 HR in 41 games. If I get lucky, West Tennessee will win the North Division race in the second half and have a playoff series against my Barons. If that happens, I may be the only fan all year long that begs Quiroz for an auto or three and actually knows who he is.

Also, if anyone has the blackout version or the black-bordered version or the silk version or the banana peel version or whatever other versions Topps put out this year, hit me up for a trade.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsten permalink
    October 21, 2009 5:59 pm

    I can get that Quiroz card signed for you. Let me know if you’re interested.

Trackbacks

  1. To The Winner Go These Spoils « EX-MT

Leave a Reply

